Leave a comment

Survey says… Delay, Delay, Delay, Undelay, Delay

Back in December I wrote about my new job and travelling.  The delays have been a royal pain lately like a boil* on your butt that has to get worse before it gets better and finally calms down, if it doesn’t burst first.

It started with my flight to Houston three weeks ago. Not a big deal just a lot of turbulence, which I kind of like really, except this kind is where if felt like the plane would suddenly drop. Then the flight home that week; I had switched to an earlier flight not knowing about the massive storms moving into Houston. The flight boarded fast and we pushed off from the gate and then… STOPPED. So many flights were rushing to get out so we got stuck.

We sat there on the tarmac as the first storm came through. I was pleasantly surprised that we were able to take off after that first storm so the delay was minimal until we neared National Airport in DC. There was a delay and we had to circle waiting for an all clear to land.

On take off I snapped this pic.

On take off I snapped this pic. Houston had flooding due to all the rain that weekend

By the time I got to baggage claim my original, later, flight was retrieving their baggage before our flight, but at least my suitcase was the first off my plane.

The next week I worked in Houston until Friday and that flight home got delayed 3 hours. The good thing was I got upgraded because everyone else bailed on that flight.

I was not happy about the 3 hour delay but getting upgraded was good so when the survey came in I ignored it. Until… I saw my miles earned under United’s new mile earning program. With the new program it’s based on money rather than actual miles flown. So with my status, my miles earned have been pretty good and more than actual miles flown. Except for this one flight so I was PISSED and I went and found that survey. I gave the crew good points as best I could and then when it came to the comments I rattled off my anger in the most concise manner I could muster. In my comments I mentioned, as I have mentioned before, that base points should be awarded to the flyer when delays are due to the airline rather than Mother Nature or something beyond their control.

I did get an email from the airline, aside from my survey, apologizing for the delay and they did give miles but not base miles.

This past week I was flying home as normal, on Thursday. Around 10am I got an email from United that the flight was delayed 1 hour and 20 minutes. Uggggh! Not again? Within a half hour I got another email that we were on-time again. Undelayed? So happy because I couldn’t take another week of delays and my poor hubby who picks me up, I am SO thankful he does this.

At the gate we were told National was delaying us because of storms in the DC area but only by 30 minutes. When they decided to board us it was fast but then they delayed us again… in the plane… then on the tarmac.

Well I am finally home and I am not flying next week. So here I am Saturday morning and Hophead and I are at our computers and I get an email from United. I feel like they are calling me out on my scathing, ranting comments in the survey and they kind of are but I like this. It tells me my surveys don’t go into never never land.

Surveys are everywhere and it’s nice to know they are seen, reviewed and heard even if we do sound like ranting idiots on them.

United

 

*Please note that I have no experience with boils on butts. Thank you
Leave a Reply

