1 Comment

Pink Hair for Hope

Have I ever told you about my hairdresser, Kim?

No?

This chick is freaking awesome. Finding her was a fluke years ago and now Mini Red goes to her as well as Squirrley Gurl and Mrs. M to name a few. My Mom has even gone to her on occasion.  She has taken me to a new plateau with the styles I wear and we have even played with color… Enhancing my red that is.

The first time she did low lights I noticed she kept checking over her shoulder. I asked what was up and she told me she was worried someone would tackle her for touching my hair color.

I love that when I bring Mini Red in she will tell me something along the lines of, “I was thinking about your hair and I think we should try…”  I feel so special that she thinks about me when we aren’t together. We are already planning the low lights I want to do in October and I want to go darker than last time. So excited.

Last time I was in I cut four inches off my hair. She knew that I wasn’t ready for that my previous visit but she knew I was ready the next time which shows she definitely is in tune with me.  The thing is… It’s not just me it’s Mini Red too and everyone that goes to her. The last time I was in she told me about these colorful extension and thought of Mini Red.

Today I took Mini Red to get her hair trimmed and she got two purple extensions in her hair. Evidently, Salon 4 is supporting the National Breast Cancer Foundation with Pink Hair for Hope. You can have a lock of pink hair extension added to your own locks for a $10 donation. Lasting from Sept. 1 until Oct. 31, all proceeds of this campaign will go to the National Breast Cancer Foundation to help fund breast cancer research.

According to the American Cancer Society, more than 212,000 new cases of breast cancer were diagnosed in the USA in 2006, adding to the 2.3 million women in the U.S.A. with a history of breast cancer.

So I donated $20 and got two hot pink extension added to my hair. This is such a cool way to show your support for those who are fighting in a fun and special way.

Breast cancer has touched many of us in our own way. For me my Grandmother and Godmother both had breast cancer. Adding a funky color like this is something I think is very cool and fun but I don’t think I would have done it if not for such a great cause. I’m tempted to go back for more now.

If you want to show your support and sport some pink hair, of various degrees of pink, check out Salon 4’s website for their contact information and stop by or call them for an appointment. $10 is a drop in the bucket even in this economy plus you get something back. This is way cooler than sporting a “I Voted” sticker.

Come help make a unique difference with Pink Hair for Hope.

One comment on “Pink Hair for Hope

  1. Red,
    Thank you for sharing your stories of Kim and your experience of Pink Hair for Hope! Kim is very special to us and we are grateful to have her. And what can I say about Pink Hair for Hope that you haven’t already said? It’s a wonderful experience helping people show their support for the National Breast Cancer Foundation and Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Thanks again,
    Salon4

Leave a Reply

