1 Comment

One Wedding down now on to the next one

The Chicago Wedding was WONDERFUL! 

View from my room

View from my room

It was non-stop from the time we arrived.  Get this… There were 38 wedding parties staying at our hotel (Chicago Hyatt Regency).  That is one HUGE Hotel!

Friday was the Cubs game and I got to see Soriano hit a homer and break the tie to lead the Cubs to a win against the Phillies.  Wahoo!  But damn it was hot and chivalry doesn’t exist at Wrigley Field when the Cubs are doing well… I don’t blame em.

Wrigley Field

Wrigley Field

Friday Night we headed out to Howl at The Moon, a piano bar, for the combination Bachelor/Bachelorette party.  A good time was had by all.

Saturday, three of us girls were at brunch when five fire trucks showed up at the building across the street.  We had the perfect seats to check out the Hot Chicago Firemen.  Ends up it was a false alarm.

Chicago Firemen with Marina Towers in the background

Chicago Firemen with Marina Towers in the background

We did a lot of running around  that day doing preparations before heading to the Rehearsal and the Rehearsal Dinner at Greek Islands.  On the way to dinner we got stuck in traffic but I now know where I want to go next time I’m in town:

The Crying Deaf Stripper?

The Crying Deaf Stripper?

The Crying Deaf Stripper ?  Sounds like something from one of Mad Cabbie’s stories.

After dinner five of us shared a cab back to the hotel where everyone met up at the Big Bar.  In the cab four of us chicks were in the back and we had one dude with us.  We over heard the Cabbie and dude talking and all we got was dude saying, “So you like it rough?”.  On that Mrs. M immediately closed the little window separating the front from the back.  We were howling and repeated the line to dude the rest of the night but he insisted it was innocent enough.

SUNDAY! SUNDAY! SUNDAY! The Wedding Day!

That morning was incredibly crazy.  Our bridesmaid dresses were full length.  The bottom was three layers with the bottom layer having crinlin, this got a bit hot.  The top was sleeveless and low cut.  Those of us with a bigger bust had concerns about our cleavage in church.

See!

See!

I’m not gonna show her cleavage but I must say it was impressive.  Even Jimmy said so.

By the time we got on the boat we were all overheated again.  The top of the boat had the sun beating down and the A/C hadn’t really kicked in down below.  But then I noticed it… The bow of the boat.  So I headed out there and it was heaven.  There were a few Greek women out there and I just lifted my dress a bit to let the wind help cool me off.  They thought I was funny and offered to take my picture for me.

It was windy.

It was windy.

The food was wonderful and the views were amazing especially as the sun was going down.

See the Hancock Bldg?

See the Hancock Bldg?

What a Beautiful Scene!

What a Beautiful Scene!

The Happy Couple and Red

The Happy Couple and Red

I had the hardest time getting nighttime photos but some turned out beautiful.  I’ll have to work on that.

And last but not least I have to post a pic of my roomie and I.

Roomies

Roomies

For quite sometime I have been considering moving to Chicago.  I’ve never lived anywhere else but Maryland and would love to have the experience of a different city.  Being in Chicago exacerbated this and all my Chicago friends egged me on big time.  Since being back, which hasn’t been long, I’ve done some serious contemplating about the move and I’ve made a decision.

I can’t move… Yet!

I’m going to do my best to keep Minnie Red in her school and with her friends through High School.  Then I’ll move to Chicago.  It’s only five years away and then I won’t have to worry about what school district I’m in and I’ll get a trendy loft in downtown Chicago.  I’ll only be 45 and I’ll run with the young’uns.  Brotha-Man and SIL can visit and I’ll take Brotha-Man and The King to Wrigley Field.

Ok, so I digressed…

The wedding was beautiful and everyone had a ton of fun and made new life long friends.  Nicole and Louis waited six years to do this and they definitely did it RIGHT!

Thanks for including me in your special day.  I’m honored.

One comment on “One Wedding down now on to the next one

  1. Hi Red,

    It’s amazing how fast Google scans sites.
    A friend texts me to ask Jimmy about the crying deaf stripper, because I know Jimmy.
    Since I haven’t seen Jimmy, I slapped a Google on it, and here I am reading all about your weekend in Chi Town.

    Unfortunately, I won’t be able to talk to Jimmy until next week, but Corey (Exit’s Big Cheese) insists that Jimmy tells the story.
    I’ll keep ya posted 😉

    Glad you enjoyed our fun city.

    Billy

Leave a Reply

