1 Comment

Happy Jamaican New Year!

This was the view from our balcony at the beach tonight:

The picture doesn’t do it justice by any means but that is Minnie Red‘s head on the bottom there. This had to be the best fireworks we have ever seen from Seacrets.  If you click on the photo and look real close you might notice the *Waxing Crescent Moon in the background. Tonight I realized that every time I’ve seen fireworks they have been red, white & blue. These were purple, gold, orange and anything else you could think of. 

After my last post I changed my mind and decided not to drive to Dewey.  Instead I had a hankering for a Mojo Rumba at Macky’s.  For some reason I wanted to pronounce it Moho but I finally got it right.  This was a first for me and what I mean is I went and sat at a bar by myself.

I met a great local couple that told me about the record breaking Blue Marlin that was brought in yesterday weighing 935.5 lbs.  WOW!  They also let me know that Fager’s and Galaxy 66 have the best food that can be found in Ocean City.

BUT what they were really emphatic about is the crab cakes at the Crab Cake Factory and at Cowboyz Smokehouse.  They tell me there really is no filler and it’s all crab meat and this is why they can’t fry them.  The Crab Cake Factory ships almost anywhere so be sure to check out their link.  If you do place an order be sure to let them know you heard about them from Kathy.

After four… Yes four of the Mojo Rumba’s I was done.  I stumbled down the street to Dumsers and ordered myself a cheesesteak.  Evidently, the cheesesteak was on special and came with fries.  WOOHOO! I have been so good lately and this was gonna ruin it all but I didn’t care.  Once the order was ready I stumbled back to the condo to chow down.  Luckily, I couldn’t eat it all and only got half way through.  About that time The Folks and Minnie Red arrived home with Grotto pizza, which I didn’t touch.  I layed down on the couch and promply passed out but not before I put my foot on the floor to keep the room from spinning.

Soon after the sun went down I woke up and not feeling very well.  I took some excedrin for the headache and I’m guzzling the water and with any luck maybe I’ll run in the morning.  I’m just thankful I didn’t eat the whole thing.  I prefer not to eliminate something I want to eat but to just have smaller… way smaller portions.  Last year I would have eaten the entire thing.  Seems this is all working… I bumped into a friend I haven’t seen for a few months and he noted I was looking better… slimmer.  Woohoo!

Seems I woke in plenty of time to catch Project Runway but more importantly the fireworks.

Another wonderful day of vacation and this one was particularly quiet plus I met a personal challenge to hang at a bar alone and meet some new people.

*The Waxing Crescent Moon is a term I got from Minnie Red. Last year they did an entire unit on the moon and the sun. I’m so proud of her… She is soooo smart.

One comment on “Happy Jamaican New Year!

  1. I go to bars all the time by myself – I know it is different for women, but once you get used to it, you may find you prefer to roll solo.

    My friends were asking me if there were any prospects but that wasn’t why I was there… And No. I had fun just chilling throwing down my drinks and talking to the nice people. – Red

Leave a Reply

