3 Comments

Do you know of Emma?

After a long grueling day Mini Red and I are finally home.

We’ve gotten in our comfy clothes and mulling around finishing things up for the evening.  As we are settling down Mini Red turned on the movie Emma, based on the book of the same title by Jane Austin.

Emma

Now I know some of you guys are going “Uggggggggh chick flick.  I’d rather have a fork stuck in my eyeball.”.  But wait because this movie is hilarious.

This story is about a chick who loves playing matchmaker and she is so far off kilter it’s funny.  She picks wrong for everyone and doesn’t see any of the coupling that happens until they actually happen, even her own.

There is some definite bitchiness between the characters, even the men.  The best part is Mini Red and I will talk all proper, like them, for the rest of the evening.

For any of you that have some aversion to these types of books then I suggest you try them again because these are some great stories.  Some have even been modernized such as Clueless, which is based on Emma.

If you don’t want to start with Emma then might I suggest Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare.  Maybe you heard of him?  Kenneth Branagh brought in some BIG names to play in his screen adaptation. 

Ok so maybe Emma is a chick flick but Mr. Knightly is HOT!  His hottness cannot be denied.

Good night and good morrow.

3 comments on “Do you know of Emma?

  1. I love Shakespeare. I’ve been in two Shakespeare plays (‘Romeo and Juliet’ and ‘A Midsummer Nights Dream’). ‘Much Ado’ is one of his funniest comedies. I’m also a big fan of Gwyneth.

  2. Much Ado About Nothing rocks…

    Hope things are well… 🙂

  3. I highly recommend the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice with Colin Firth. Not as lighthearted as Emma but worth it for Colin Firth. And if you liked Mr. Knightley then I recommed The Winslow Boy featuring the same actor. Wonderful movie with a great last line! and I think Mini Red would enjoy it too. Happy viewing.

Leave a Reply

