1 Comment

The Riot is almost here!

2007oysterriotso.jpgAnd, DAMN, I can’t wait!

I’m talking about Old Ebbitt Grill’s annual Oyster Riot, held on the Friday and Saturday before Thanksgiving.  This year tickets for both nights sold out in less than 40 minutes.

This will be the second year for me and I have been patiently waiting.  Thousands of the world’s best oysters will be devoured along with award winning wines.  Have an empty stomach when you arrive so as to take full advantage of the oysters that are offered up but be careful not to drink too much wine prior to filling that empty stomach.  Besides the raw oysters there will be will be fruit & cheese, shrimp, crab claws and some hot oyster hors d’oeuvres to help fill that empty stomach.  Maybe I should stop eating now so I will have room for it all come Saturday.

We have pretty big group going including The Folks, Brotha-Man and Sil, friends of The Folks along with Mr & Mrs. M and more friends.  The plan is for the night to continue in Dupont with more friends after we have stuffed ourselves full of Oysters and Wine.  I’ve taken care of everything down to Mini Red, who will be away for the weekend at her Dad’s.  I’m sure I will need recovery time on Sunday.

If you have tickets in hand to go then I’ll be the one with the Red hair so be sure to say “Hi”.  If not then I won’t be reminding you about this next year when it comes time to purchase tickets.  We don’t need any more competition when it comes to getting these tickets.

One comment on “The Riot is almost here!

  1. The last time I was at Old Ebbitt, I’d already had countless rum & cokes before arriving. After sitting down I began eating pieces of grilled chicken and spoonfuls of pico de gallo and sour cream. I’ll give you one guess as to what happened next.

    I just feel bad for whoever had to clean the bathroom.

    Ewwwww. This might fall under TMI. – Red

Leave a Reply

